The Health Care Provider Taxonomy code set is a collection of unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The Health Care Provider Taxonomy code set includes specialty categories for individuals, Groups of individuals, and non-individuals.

The “Individual Category” includes:

  1. Physicians
  2. Behavioral Health and Social Service Providers
  3. Chiropractic Providers
  4. Dental Providers
  5. Dietary and Nutritional Service Providers
  6. Emergency Medical Service Providers
  7. Eye and Vision Service Providers
  8. Nursing Service Providers
  9. Nursing Service Related Providers
  10. Other Service Providers
  11. Pharmacy Service Providers
  12. Physician Assistants and Advanced Practice Nursing Providers
  13. Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Providers
  14. Respiratory, Rehabilitative and Restorative Providers
  15. Speech, Language and Hearing Providers
  16. Student, Health Care
  17. Technologist, Technician, and Other Technical Service Providers

The Group (of Individuals) category includes:

  1. Multi-Specialty
  2. Single Specialty

The Non-individual category includes:

  1. Agencies
  2. Ambulatory Health Care Facilities
  3. Hospital Units
  4. Hospitals
  5. Laboratories
  6. Managed Care Organizations
  7. Nursing and Custodial Care Facilities
  8. Residential Treatment Facilities
  9. Respite Care Facilities
  10. Suppliers
  11. Transportation Services